Wine Regions, Districts and Wards

South Africa's Wine of Origin legislation divided the winelands into a number of official "areas", now called "districts". These districts are grouped into "regions" and some of the districts have further subdivisions called "wards". Some regions have wards but no districts. Some districts do not form part of any region.

The Regions/Districts/Wards

Most of this information comes from The Complete Book of South African Wine.